A drawing of a young boy with an oversized head, a character from BLA BLA, an interactive website produced by Vincent Morisset in 2011.

Press Releases & Media Kits


Press release


Legendary NFB filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin receives three nominations as well as the Humanitarian Award for Exceptional Contributions to Community & Public Service
Toronto, January 13, 2014 – National Film Board of Canada productions and craftspeople have received 23 nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards, presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema, recognizing excellence in film, television and digital media.

The NFB swept all five nominations for Best Animated Short, with Claire Blanchet's The End of Pinky, Theodore Ushev's Gloria Victoria, Uri and Michelle Kranot's Hollow Land (NFB/Dansk Tegnefilm/Les Films de l'Arlequin), Bruce Alcock's Impromptu (Global Mechanic/NFB) and Chris Landreth's Subconscious Password.

NFB documentaries received a total of five nominations for best documentary as well: with Anne Wheeler's CHI and Sam Decoste's Mary & Myself nominated for Best Short Documentary, and Alanis Obomsawin's Hi-Ho Mistahey!, Chelsea McMullan's My Prairie Home and Stephen A. Smith and Julia Szucs' Vanishing Point all nominated for the Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary Award.

NFB excellence in interactive works was recognized with two nominations for Best Original Interactive Production Produced for Digital Media: the graphic novel app The Loxleys and the War of 1812, produced in partnership with the Department of Canadian Heritage, and NFB Space School, an interactive learning experience developed and produced by the NFB in collaboration with the Canadian Space Agency.

NFB documentaries were also honoured in two television categories. We Were Children (Eagle Vision/eOne/NFB), directed by Tim Wolochatiuk and written by Jason Sherman, was nominated for Best History or Biography Documentary Program or Series. A second documentary by Alanis Obomsawin, The People of the Kattawapiskak River, was nominated for the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social Political/Documentary Program.

Craft nominations

Pedro Pires and Robert Lepage were nominated for Achievement in Direction for Triptych (Productions du 8e Art, in association with the NFB). Robert Lepage was also nominated for Adapted Screenplay for this NFB co-production, which is distributed by Christal Films (sub-distribution by Les Films Séville).

Alanis Obomsawin was also nominated a third time, for Best Direction in a Documentary Program for The People of the Kattawapiskak River.

We Were Children also received three craft nominations, for Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Series (Jeremy Benning, Kim Bell), Best Production Design or Art Direction in a Non-Fiction Program or Series (Gordon Wilding) and Best Sound in an Information/Documentary or Lifestyle Program or Series (Daniel Pellerin).

Produced by Maya Gallus and Justine Pimlott for Red Queen Productions and Anita Lee for the NFB, The Mystery of Mazo de la Roche was nominated for Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Series (Stan Barua), the Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial Research (Maya Gallus) and the Barbara Sears Award for Best Visual Research (Erin Chisholm).

Humanitarian Award for Exceptional Contributions to Community & Public Service

In addition to her three nominations, Alanis Obomsawin was chosen to receive the Academy's Humanitarian Award. An Officer of the Order of Canada, Ms. Obomsawin is one of Canada's most distinguished artists and was also recently named as an Honorary Fellow for 2013 by the Royal Society of Canada.

About the NFB

The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) creates groundbreaking interactive works, social-issue documentaries and auteur animation. The NFB has produced over 13,000 productions and won over 5,000 awards, including 4 Canadian Screen Awards, 7 Webbys, 12 Oscars and more than 90 Genies. To access acclaimed NFB content, visit NFB.ca or download its apps for smartphones, tablets and connected TV.



Pat Dillon, NFB Publicist
Cell: 514-206-1750
E-mail: p.a.dillon@nfb.ca
Twitter: @PatDoftheNFB

Lily Robert, Director, Corporate Communications, NFB
Tel.: 514-283-3838
Cell: 514-296-8261
E-mail: l.robert@nfb.ca