Filmmaker support programs

Cinéaste recherché(e)



The Cinéaste recherché(e) competition is held every two years. Since 1980, it has been enabling such artists as Michèle Cournoyer, Tali, Pierre M. Trudeau, Nicolas Brault, Jean-François Lévesque, Marie-Hélène Turcotte, and many others to join the animated film community in a professional capacity as directors.

Have you already made at least one non-professional or school-related animated film? The French Animation Studio of the National Film Board of Canada’s French Program gives you the opportunity to make your first professional animated work!

Registration deadline for the 23nd edition:
To come in 2018

Eligibility criteria

Any Francophone Canadian who has already made at least one non-professional animated sound film or interactive work is eligible.

IMPORTANT: This year, a new option has been added for the form that submitted projects can take. As a result, any project using new narrative forms that can be broadcast on several types of screens are eligible. Examples: a proposal for a game, an interactive production, a project for mobile phones, etc. Animation must always be central to the projects submitted.

Selection and production
A selection committee will choose the most interesting project. We are looking for an original high quality script, accompanied by a graphic proposal that is personal and distinctive and that represents the author’s artistic vision. All candidates will be personally notified of the decision and files that are not selected will be returned within three months of the registration deadline date.

The winner will be offered a production contract and will work in close collaboration with a producer from the French Animation Studio. He/she will be subject to the NFB’s normal production constraints and carry out his/her work at the Montreal studio.

Entry file
Each candidate must provide:

->the URL address of at least one animated film or interactive work made non-professionally or in an educational setting;
->a DVD copy will also be accepted;
->a curriculum vitæ (with birth date and education);
->the script and/or storyboard for an animation project or interactive production in which animation is central and that does not exceed four minutes in length (original script free of all rights);
->a description of the animation technique to be used;
->a timeline for each production phase of the project;
->a complete list of materials, instruments and software needed to make the film;
->any other documents in support of the proposal.

The complete file should be sent to the following address BEFORE the registration deadline:

French Animation Studio
French Program, National Film Board of Canada
3155 Côte de Liesse Road, Ville St-Laurent, H4N 2N4

Please email any questions you have to Diane Ayotte at

The 22 Cinéaste recherché(e) winners

22e édition : Patrick Lapierre – Nuna 2015-2016
21st edition: Keyu Chen – Un printemps 2012-13
20th edition: Emmanuelle Loslier – Rue de l’inspecteur / Inspector Street 2010-11
19th edition: Dominic-Étienne Simard – Paula 2008-09
18th edition: Marie-Hélène Turcotte – La formation des nuages / The Formation of Clouds 2006-07
17th edition: Jean-François Lévesque – Le Noeud cravate / The Necktie 2004-05
16th edition: Frédérick Tremblay – Un jour ordinaire pas comme les autres / Remote Paradise 2002-03
15th edition: Nicolas Brault Antagonia 2000-01
14th edition: Philippe Vaucher – Chasse-papillon / The Song-Catcher 1997-98
13th edition: Jeanne Crépeau – La solitude de Monsieur Turgeon / Lonesome Monsieur Turgeon 1995-96
12th edition: Tali – À l’ombre / Under the Weather 1993-94
11th edition: Suzie Synnott – Entre le rouge et le bleu / Between Red and Blue 1990-91
10th edition: Vincent Gauthier – Territoire / Borderlines 1991-92
9th edition: Michèle Cournoyer – La basse-cour / A Feather Tale 1989-90
8th edition: Pierre M. Trudeau – Enfantillage / Kid Stuff 1988-89
7th edition: Sophie Clerk – Cabinet d’aisance 1986-87
6th edition: Martin Barry – Juke-Bar 1985-86
5th edition: Luce Roy – Oniromance / Oneiromancy 1984-85
4th edition: François Aubry – Concerto Grosso 1983-84
3rd edition: Michel Murray – Sylvia 1982-83
2nd edition: Georges Mauro – Le cadre / Bounds 1981-82
1st edition: Denis Poulin – Le Bouffe-Pétrole 1980-81